Superior Union Hall

In the town of Superior, Wyoming, a small mining town located east of the city of Rock Springs, WY, the United Mine Workers of America (UMWA), constructed the Union Hall in 1921. Neither a rectangle nor a square, the building is a trapezoid unique in Wyoming as a structure of this type.

This project was undertaken to provide Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), recordation prior to the removal of the unstable roof and walls. Only the front fa├žade and portions of the North, South and West walls remain intact. Once the structure was stabilized, the Union Hall was converted to a historical interpretive park and monument. The interpretive park, which was created inside the remaining structure, consists of an interactive concrete walkway surrounded by planters and areas of landscaping.

This Historic Interpretive Site is the result of Labor put forth by: the people of the town of South Superior, Noel Griffith Jr. & Associates Architects, The Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality, Abandoned Mine Division, Terra Engineering, Western Wyoming College, and the Sweetwater County Commissioners Office.